NSW Carers Advisory Council

NSW Carers (Recognition) Act 2010

The NSW Carers Advisory Council was established under the NSW Carers (Recognition) Act 2010. The objectives of the Act are to:

  • enact a Carers Charter to recognise the role and contribution of carers to our community and to the people they care for
  • increase awareness of the valuable contribution that carers make to our community.

About the NSW Carers Advisory Council

The NSW Carers Advisory Council advances the interests of carers. The Council provides advice to the NSW Government on legislation, policy and other matters relating to carers.

Carers provide ongoing unpaid support to people who need it because of their disability, chronic illness, mental ill-health, dementia or frail age.

Council members

Council members are appointed by the Minister for Disability Services for a four year term.

The majority of Council members have current or previous experience of being a carer. Members have diverse backgrounds and expertise and come from a range of metropolitan and regional areas in NSW.

Directly appointed representatives

  • Elena Katrakis, Chief Executive Officer, Carers NSW
  • Tanya Smyth, Department of Family and Community Services
  • Louise Farrell, NSW Ministry of Health
  • Michael Fine, Adjunct Professor, Department of Sociology, Macquarie University


Manager, Carers Advisory Council Secretariat Team, Department of Family and Community Services
Address: Level 3, 4-6 Cavill Avenue, Ashfield, NSW 2131
Locked Bag 4028, Ashfield NSW 2131
Phone: (02) 8879-9175
Email: NSWCarersAdvisoryCouncilSecretariat@facs.nsw.gov.au

The Department of Family and Community Services provides the secretariat for the NSW Carers Advisory Council.