Skip to Content

About Safer Pathway

Safer Pathway proposes a fundamental change in how agencies and organisations support victim’s safety in NSW. Through Safer Pathway, the right services are provided to victims when they need them, in a coordinated way. The Safer Pathway factsheet explains what this reform means for victims, where it will be available and how the reforms are funded.

The key components of Safer Pathway are:

  • people who have experienced domestic violence are provided with coordinated support thus reducing their need to re-tell their story and relive the trauma of their experience
  • use of the Domestic Violence Safety Assessment Tool (DVSAT) to better and consistently identify the level of  threat a victim of domestic violence is facing
  • a state-wide Central Referral Point is in use to electronically manage and monitor referrals
  • Safety Action Meetings where members develop plans for victims at serious threat of death, disability or injury as a result of domestic and family violence. These meetings cover one or more NSW Police Local Area Commands and by September 2018 we expect 48 Safety Action Meetings to be in operation
  • legislation promoting information sharing by service providers about victims and perpetrators. Information sharing means victims don't need to retell their story multiple times, perpetrators are held accountable and an integrated response can be offered to victims at serious threat
  • a network of Local Coordination Points across NSW that facilitate local responses and provide victims with case coordination and support. By the end of March 2018, Safer Pathway was operational at 43 sites namely: Albury, Armidale, Ashfield-Burwood, Bankstown, Bathurst, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Bourke, Broken Hill, Campbelltown, Coffs Harbour, Deniliquin, Dubbo, Far South Coast, Goulburn, Gosford, Griffith, Hunter Valley, Illawarra, Lismore, Liverpool, Moree, Mt Druitt, Newcastle, Newtown, Northern Beaches, Nowra, Orange, Parramatta, Penrith, Port Macquarie, Queanbeyan, St George, Sutherland, Tamworth, Taree, Toronto, Tweed Heads, Wagga Wagga, Walgett, Waverley, Wollongong and Wyong.

Frequently asked questions

Find answers to frequently asked questions about the Safer Pathway for both service providers and the general public.

Was this content useful?
Last updated: 24 Sep 2019