Skip to Content

DCJ funded service providers who continue to provide disability services under a Funding Agreement from 1 July 2018 are required to continue to comply with Terms of their Funding Agreement throughout the transition period. Specific conditions include:

  • having a demonstrated commitment to person centred service delivery and establishment of arrangements to individualise client supports
  • demonstration of sound governance
  • having systems in place for ensuring probity in employment of all staff
  • meeting obligations for reporting of serious incidents; subcontracting of services, and meeting privacy obligations
  • requiring a quality management system and complying with the NSW Disability Service Standards (NSW DSS) or equivalent standards
  • having a complaints management system
  • complying with all financial reporting and information disclosure requirements, and
  • continuing to meet requirements of all relevant policies, procedures, guidelines and NSW legislation.

The NSW quality requirements for funded service providers are set out in the Funding Agreement for Disability Service Providers (Terms and Conditions of Agreement). The quality requirements are also outlined in the Quality policy.

National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) Quality and Safeguards Commission

The NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission (NDIS Commission) is a new independent body that will regulate the NDIS market in NSW and SA from 1 July 2018. Service providers that are NDIS registered providers will also be required to meet the new registration requirements under the Quality and Safeguards Commission.

E-learning module – NSW Disability Services Standards

The NSW Quality Framework e-learning module assists DCJ operated disability services staff and funded service providers in understanding thes quality requirements for disability services including application of the NSW Disability Service Standards (NSW DSS).

The module takes users progressively through the NSW DSS and each of the related training components. They can also navigate freely around the module and access specific topics of interest.

The module has been updated and reconstructed as a result of user testing by district staff and funded service providers.

NSW and National Disability Standards

The NSW DSS form the basis of DCJ's quality requirements for disability services and have been updated to reflect person-centred approaches and streamlined in line with the endorsed National Standards. See the Standards

Key Performance Indicators (KPI) Guide

Here you can find out how you can measure your organisation's performance against the NSW DSS. To support the introduction of the KPIs, a simple guide has been developed which explains how to gather information to demonstrate that the KPIs are being met and how to use this information to inform continuous improvement.

Systems Recognition Tool

Here you can find out how your existing accreditations and systems meet the NSW DSS.

The NSW quality reform program recognises accreditations /certifications of other industry standards that service providers already have in place to reduce the administrative burden and need for duplicate reporting.

The Recognition Tool is based on mapping by Joint Accreditation Systems of Australia and New Zealand (JAS-ANZ) of 12 industry standards in common use in the sector against NSW DSS.

The recognition tool has 12 chapters, one for each quality management system or standard that has been mapped by Joint JAS-ANZ. JAS-ANZ is the government-appointed accreditation body for Australia and New Zealand responsible for providing accreditation of conformity assessment bodies (CABs) in the fields of certification and inspection. Accreditation by JAS-ANZ demonstrates the competence and independence of these CABs.

These chapters are listed below:

It should be noted that as the elements in the NSW DSS are specific and designed to cover the full range of service types, not all elements will apply to all service providers. For example, the elements relating to children's services won't apply to service providers who only deliver services to adults.

Was this content useful?
Your rating will help us improve the website.
Last updated: 05 Nov 2019