Skip to Content

The Permanency Support Program supports safety, wellbeing and positive life outcomes for children and young people in the child protection and out-of-home-care (OOHC) systems in NSW.

The program provides tailored services and supports for children, young people and their families who are experiencing vulnerability. Services are available throughout NSW, so that children and their families can be supported as close to home as possible.

Staff working with any child or young person experiencing vulnerability will need to set a goal for that child to achieve a permanent home within two years.

The priority is to make sure these children and young people can achieve permanency. Under the program, permanency means a stable, safe and loving home where children can thrive.

In NSW law, there is an order of preference for how a child or young person in child protection or out-of-home-care (OOHC) can achieve permanency.

The four main components of the Permanency Support Program

There are four parts of the program which support children, young people and families to achieve permanency:

  1. Permanency and early intervention principles built into casework
  2. Working intensively with birth parents and families to support change
  3. A new approach to the recruitment, development and support of guardians, adoptive parents and other carers
  4. Intensive Therapeutic Care system reform

Whole of system reform

The Permanency Support Program is one of the most significant changes made to the NSW child protection and OOHC systems in decades.

The program is a government and sector-wide reform to child protection and OOHC practice and culture. Child placement practice is changing from a placement-based service to a person-centred service.

Changes under the program began on 1 October 2017. FACS and organisations in the non-government service sector are implementing the program gradually.

You can learn more about what the progress of this reform and what’s still ahead on our Resources page.

The full program begins on 1 July 2018.

Was this content useful?