Skip to Content

Changes to the Department of Communities and Justice from 1 July 2019

From 1 July 2019, the Department of Family and Community Services (FACS) and Department of Justice will be a single department, named the Department of Communities and Justice

The new department will enable services to better work together to support everyone’s right to access justice and other help for families, and promote early intervention and inclusion, with benefits for the whole community.

The Department of Communities and Justice will be the lead agency in the new Stronger Communities Cluster.

The new Stronger Communities Cluster brings together, and replaces, the Family and Communities and Justice Clusters. It brings all government services targeted at achieving safe, just, inclusive and resilient communities under one roof.

You can still access up-to-date, reliable information on the existing Department of Justice and Department of Family and Community Services websites.  Read more about the recent machinery of government changes on the Department of Premier and Cabinet’s website.

FACS organisational chart

View the FACS organisational chart

Our executive team

  • Michael Coutts-Trotter, Secretary
  • Deidre Mulkerin, Deputy Secretary, Commissioning
  • Chris Leach, Deputy Secretary, Disability
  • Paul Vevers, Deputy Secretary, Southern and Western Cluster
  • Simone Walker, Deputy Secretary, Northern Cluster
  • John Hubby, Deputy Secretary, Corporate Services
  • Anne Skewes, Deputy Secretary, Land and Housing Corporation
  • Shane Hamilton, Executive Director and Chief Executive, Aboriginal Housing Office
  • Gary Groves, Executive Director, Their Futures Matter

Independent statutory organisations also part of the FACS cluster

  • Aboriginal Housing Office - The Aboriginal Housing Office is focused on delivering better housing choices for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in NSW.
  • Office of the Children’s Guardian - The Office of the Children’s Guardian promotes the interests and rights of children and young people living in out-of-home care and regulates the quality of child safe organisations and services. The Office reports to the NSW Minister for Family and Community Services and to Parliament.
  • Land and Housing Corporation - The NSW Land and Housing Corporation is responsible for the management of the NSW Government’s social housing portfolio.
  • Multicultural NSW – Multicultural NSW promotes community harmony and social cohesion in one of the most culturally diverse states in the world.

FACS Districts

Read about the FACS Districts

Contact your local FACS community services centre or FACS Housing office

Was this content useful?