

Agenda

Meeting/Purpose Pathways of Care Longitudinal Study Advisory Group Meeting

Date: 3 November 2020 Time: 9.30-12noon

Location: Webex (video conference or phone)

Item	Topic	Attachments
1.	Introduction	9.30-9.45 am
5 mins	1.1 Welcome (Jessica Stewart) Acknowledgement of country	
10 mins	1.2 Progress since the previous meeting (Merran Butler)	Item 1
2.	New research reports	9.45-10.30 am
5-10 mins each PPT; 5 mins Q&A	 Key policy and practice implications from new analyses: Placement stability and developmental outcomes (Dr Courtney Breen) Child temperament and socio-emotional wellbeing (Dr Robert Wells) Offending of children in OOHC (Albert Zhou) 	Item 2
3.	Discussion between Advisory Group & Study Working Group	10.30-11.45 am
30 mins	3.1 Reflections on progress and key factors influencing outcomes (Study Working Group members)	Item 3.1
25 mins	3.2 Response from a policy and practice perspective (Advisory Group members)	
20 mins	3.3 Priority policy questions for next 12 months (Advisory Group members)	Item 3.3
4.	Knowledge translation	11.45-11.55 am
10 mins	4.1 Evidence to Action Working Group and oversight by DCJ executive sub committees (Jessica Stewart)	Item 4
	4.2 Other ways to engage more closely with policy, practice and Districts across government agencies and NGOs	
	4.3 Do we have the right strategy/ products to disseminate the findings?	
5.	Wrap up and next meeting	11.55-12 noon



Advisory Group Members

Simone Walker, Deputy Secretary, Strategy, Policy and Commissioning. Department of Communities and Justice

Lauren Dean, Executive Director, ChildStory. Department of Communities and Justice

Eleri Morgan-Thomas, Executive Director Partnerships. Department of Communities and Justice

Simone Czech, Deputy Secretary, Northern Cluster, Department of Communities and Justice

Daniel Barakate - Director - Design and Stewardship, Department of Communities and Justice

Gary Groves, Executive Director, Their Futures Matter. Department of Communities and Justice

Kate Alexander, Executive Director, Office of the Senior Practitioner. Department of Communities and Justice

Bianca Jarrett, Manager, Inclusion and Early Intervention. Department of Communities and Justice

Jacki Kirk, Manager Practice Support OSP, Western, Central West and Far West. Department of Communities and Justice

Jacqueline Richardson, Casework Manager, Child and Family District Unit. Department of Communities and Justice

Dr Jessica Stewart, Executive Director, FACSIAR, Department of Communities and Justice

Marilyn Chilvers, Executive Director Data Analytics Centre, NSW Treasury & Department of Communities and Justice

Merran Butler, Director, Statistical Analysis & Modelling. FACSIAR. Department of Communities and Justice

Lisa Charet, Executive Director, Northern Cluster, Department of Communities and Justice

Nicola Jeffers, A/Executive District Director, South Western Sydney District, Department of Communities and Justice

Briony Foster, Director, Cross Cluster Operations and Business Support, Office of the Deputy Secretary, Department of Communities and Justice, Operations Executive

A/Prof Elizabeth Murphy Senior Clinical Advisor, Child and Family Health NSW Health

Maggie Church, Director Child Protection Services, Department of Education.

Dr Eric Heller, Manager, Research Juvenile Justice NSW, Department of Communities and Justice

Jacqui Reed, Chief Executive Officer, CREATE

Bill Pritchard, Acting Chief Executive Officer, AbSec – NSW Child, Family and Community Peak Aboriginal Corporation

Renee Carter, Chief Executive Officer, Adopt Change

Vanessa Viaggio, Policy Manager, Office of the Children's Guardian

Steve Kinmond, Chief Executive Officer, Association of Children's Welfare Agencies (ACWA)

A/Prof Amy Conley Wright, Director Institute of Open Adoption Studies Sydney University

POCLS Study Working Group members:

External expert advisors

- Professor Judy Cashmore The University of Sydney
- Professor Paul Delfabbro University of Adelaide
- Professor Ilan Katz UNSW Sydney
- Dr Fred Wulczyn Director, Chapin Hall, University of Chicago
- Dr Michelle Townsend University of Wollongong
- Associate Professor Paul Gray Jumbunna Institute for Indigenous Education and Research, UTS
- Associate Professor Ben Edwards The Australian National University
- Professor Michael Tarren Sweeney University of Canterbury, New Zealand
- Dr Alan Taylor, expert statistical consultant
- Dr Johanna Watson, expert research consultant

FACSIAR POCLS team

- Marina Paxman (POCLS FACSIAR DCJ)
- Albert Zhou (POCLS FACSIAR DCJ)
- Dr Courtney Breen (POCLS FACSIAR DCJ)
- Dr Robert Wells (POCLS FACSIAR DCJ)
- Dr Nafisa Asif (POCLS FACSIAR DCJ)
- Jennifer Lau Yuen Hung (POCLS FACSIAR DCJ)
- Sharon Burke (POCLS FACSIAR DCJ)
- Toula Kypreos (POCLS FACSIAR DCJ)

DCJ policy, practice and communication colleagues

- 1. Daniel Barakate, Director Design and Stewardship, Department of Communities and Justice
- 2. Bianca Jarrett, Manager Aboriginal Outcomes Cross Division Stronger Communities Investment and Inclusion (on secondment)
- 3. Dr Catherine Esposito Manager, Partnerships (DCJ)
- 4. Stephen Lally Director, Ministerial and Communication Services (DCJ)

EA's:

- Shashi Karigiri Webex host FACSIAR DCJ
- Carol Oxford EA to Jessica Stewart FACSIAR DCJ
- Deborah Lovell EA to Simone Walker DCJ
- Kate Doel EA to Simone Czech DCJ
- Kata Krezo EA to Kate Alexander DCJ
- Hannah Boyle EA to Lisa Charet DCJ