

Pathways of Care Longitudinal Study (POCLS)

Agenda: POCLS Advisory Group

Date 19 December 2023 10.00am - 12.00pm

Location PAR-6PSQ-L11.S.45 (20) or Teams

Chairs Michael Tidball, Secretary DCJ and John Leha, CEO, AbSec

Invitees

- Hon. Kate Washington MP Minister for Families and Communities
- Anne Campbell, Deputy Secretary, SPC, DCJ
- Dr Jessica Stewart, ED. FACSIAR, DCJ
- Simone Czech, ED SWS, DCJ (Rep Samantha Gooch, Director, Cross Cluster DCJ)
- Stuart Malcher, ED Child and Family, DCJ
- Lauren Dean, HCEA Executive Lead, OSEC, DCJ
- Matthew Jones, Director Strategy, Child & Family, DCJ
- Rebecca Hinchey, Manager, OOHC Programs, DCJ
- Rebecca Magoffin, Director Strategy Policy and Commissioning, DCJ
- Jayde Ward, Director, Transforming Aboriginal Outcomes, DCJ
- Kate Alexander, ED, Office of the Senior Practitioner.
- Joe Sumegi, Director, Communications, DCJ
- Elaine Thomson, Director, Office of the Senior Practitioner, DCJ

- Lisa Charet, ED, Northern Cluster, Prof Judy Cashmore AO, DC1
- Nicola Jeffers, A/Executive District Director, SWS, DCJ
- Shanti Raman, Clinical Director-Child Protection, SWSLHD
- Briony Foster, Executive District Director, SES, DCJ
- Jacqueline Richardson, CW Manager, Child and Family District Unit. DCJ
- Victoria Perry, Manager, Research and Information, Youth Justice NSW
- Marilyn Chilvers, ED Strategy, **NSW Department of Customer**
- Trisha Ladogna, Director, Behaviour and Student Participation, Department of Education
- Steve Kinmond, Children's Guardian of NSW, OCG
- Jennifer Roberts, Practice Specialist, OCG
- Jacqui Reed, CEO, CREATE
- Maree Walk, CEO, ACWA
- Claire Moreton, Head of Program Operations & People, My Forever Family NSW

- University of Sydney
- Dr Natalie Strobel, Edith Cowan University
- Sian Bennett, Edith Cowan University

Aboriginal Governance Panel

- John Leha, CEO, AbSec
- Mr Mervyn Taylor, Ngadhi Family Services
- Mr Mathew Kenny, Ngunya Jarjum **Aboriginal Corporation**
- Ms Lisa Wellington, Waminda **Aboriginal Corporation**
- A/Prof Paul Gray, UTS Jumbunna
- Ms Mandy Weigold, Foster Carer
- Ian Brown, Senior Program Officer, Ngaramanala, DCJ
- Sally Cowling Director, Policy and Advocacy AbSec
- Annaliese Gielingh, Policy Officer, AbSec

POCLS Team

- Caroline Anderson, A/Director Statistical Analysis, Data Governance and Research, DCJ
- Rochelle Baughan, Project Manager, Albert Zhou, Data Manager, POCLS
- Sharon Burke, Nafisa Asif, Jennifer Lau Yuen Hur Silvia Nesan

Agenda Items

1.	General Business	10:00
	1.1 Welcome, Acknowledgement of Country	Chair – Michael Tidball, Secretary DCJ
	1.2 Opening remarks, John Leha, AbSec	Chair – John Leha, AbSec
2.	Study update	10:10
	2.1 Overview and update on the POCLS	Rochelle Baughan, DCJ
	2.2 Establishment of the POCLS Aboriginal Governance Panel and design of the Aftercare Survey	Rochelle Baughan, DCJ and Annaliese Gielingh, AbSec
3.	Key Findings and Current Academic Analysis	10:45
	3.1 Key POCLS findings relevant for policy and practice	POCLS Team
	3.2 Current academic analysis – Aboriginal-led and partnered research projects	Rochelle Baughan, DCJ Dr Natalie Strobel
		Sian Bennett
	3.3 Published papers in the Special Issue Child Abuse & Neglect	Prof. Judy Cashmore AO
4.	Priority policy questions	11:35
	4.1 Potential future analysis to inform sector and government priorities	Jessica Stewart
5.	Other business arising and close	11.55
	5.1 Closing remarks	Chair – Michael Tidball, Secretary DCJ

